Honors and Awards

Majors with a grade point average of at least 3.3 overall and at least 3.7 in philosophy are eligible to apply for entrance into the Honors Program in Philosophy. Majors interested in applying should consult with the department chair in the second semester of their junior year. The departmental honors committee will consider all applications and notify successful candidates during the summer prior to their senior year. Completion of fifteen hours in philosophy courses is prerequisite to beginning work in the honors program. Graduation with “Honors in Philosophy” requires successful completion of Honors I and II (391 and 392), a grade point average at the time of graduation of at least 3.7 in philosophy and 3.3 overall, and completion and successful defense of an honors thesis in an oral examination conducted by at least two members of the department. The hours earned in 391 and 392 do not count towards the twenty-seven hours required of all majors.

Pritchard Scholars

The Gregory D. Pritchard Scholarship Fund was established in 1997 with a gift from James L. Barrett and Gloria J. Barrett of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, in honor of their former teacher at Oklahoma Baptist University, Dr. Gregory Pritchard.

Dr. Pritchard served as Chair of the Philosophy Department at Oklahoma Baptist University from 1952 to 1968 and as Chair of the Philosophy Department at Wake Forest University from 1969 to 1994.

The fund honors Dr. Pritchard for his many contributions at Oklahoma Baptist and Wake Forest by providing a monetary award to be given annually in his name during graduation ceremonies at Wake Forest. The award is to be given to the student who, in the opinion of the department chair, after consultation with the faculty, is determined to be “the most deserving graduating philosophy student.” In some years we have found it necessary to divide the award among several equally deserving first-rate students.

  • 2019. Shannon Moryl
  • 2018. Brandon Hawkins
  • 2017. Kevin Chapman
  • 2016. William Conner
  • 2015. Conor Stark
  • 2014. Michael Hunter, Matthew Stanley
  • 2013. Jonathan Barker
  • 2012. Andrew Butler, Annabel Lang
  • 2011. Tyler Askew, Julia Kestner, Patrick Ryan, and Bo-Shan Xiang
  • 2010. Victoria Moore and Samuel Sims
  • 2009. Joseph LaBaw
  • 2008. Lawrence Ngo
  • 2007. Adam Blincoe, Kevin Hembree
  • 2006. Patrick Jackson
  • 2005. Brett Lohoefener
  • 2004. Ryan Doerfler, Joel Gladd, and Adam Winck
  • 2002. Ingrid Albrecht, Michael Bounds, and Justin Jennings
  • 2001. Shawn Dingle, Matthew Henschel, and Somya Tariyal
  • 2000. Sam Newlands
  • 1999. Andrew Stewart, Keith Szeliga, and Paul Thomas.
  • 1998. Robert Clewis

Departmental Honors

  • 2019. Abigail Bowman, Anne Brothers, Benjamin Campbell, Joseph Dixon, David Martin, Shannon Moryl, Leeden Rukstalis, Jacob Selvey, Wesley Skidmore, Martin Tan, and Sarah Thomas
  • 2018. Brandon Hawkins and Yifei Wang
  • 2017. Kevin Chapman
  • 2016. Rachel Bradley, William Conner, Matthew Jeanneret, Abigail McCall, and Jonna Rautsola
  • 2015. Robyn Lessans, Shahani Samarasekera, Alex Stanley, and Conor Stark
  • 2014. Austin Brown
  • 2013. Jonathan Barker
  • 2012. Andrew Butler, Samuel Murray, Anne Showalter, and Jonathan Zaikowski
  • 2011. Alberto Nicolas Gabrielli, Bo-Shan Xiang
  • 2010. Victoria Moore, Samuel Sims
  • 2009. Joe LaBaw, Farahn Morgan, and Forrest Pearce

Willis Scholars

  • Summer 2012.  Jonathan Barker, Brett LaPrad
  • Summer 2011.  Samuel Murray